This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Colombia

Colombia is made up of 33 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Colombia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Colombia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Colombia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Colombia

There are 33 regions in Colombia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Colombia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Cundinamarca Departamento de Cundinamarca1.2,598,245--
Arauca Departamento de Arauca2.232,118Arauca Arauca69,264
Quindio Quindío Department3.534,552Armenia Armenia315,328
Atlantico Departamento del Atlántico4.2,166,156Barranquilla Barranquilla1,380,425
Bogota D.C. Distrito Capital de Bogotá5.6,840,116Bogota Bogotá7,674,366
Santander Departamento de Santander6.1,957,789Bucaramanga Bucaramanga571,820
Valle del Cauca Departamento del Valle del Cauca7.4,161,425Cali Cali2,392,877
Bolivar Departamento de Bolívar8.2,049,083Cartagena Cartagena952,024
Norte de Santander Departamento de Norte de Santander9.1,243,975Cucuta Cúcuta721,398
Caqueta Departamento del Caquetá10.420,337Florencia Florencia130,337
Tolima Departamento de Tolima11.1,365,342Ibague Ibagué421,685
Guainia Departamento del Guainía12.35,230Inirida Inírida7,298
Amazonas Amazonas13.67,726Leticia Leticia29,666
Caldas Departamento de Caldas14.968,740Manizales Manizales357,814
Antioquia Departamento de Antioquia15.6,299,886Medellin Medellín1,999,979
Vaupes Departamento del Vaupés16.39,279Mitu Mitú5,917
Putumayo Departamento del Putumayo17.310,132Mocoa Mocoa22,035
Cordoba Departamento de Córdoba18.1,467,929Monteria Montería272,420
Huila Departamento del Huila19.1,011,418Neiva Neiva352,855
Narino Departamento de Nariño20.1,541,956Pasto Pasto382,236
Risaralda Departamento de Risaralda21.897,509Pereira Pereira440,118
Cauca Departamento del Cauca22.1,268,937Popayan Popayán258,653
Vichada Departamento del Vichada23.55,872Puerto Carreno Puerto Carreño10,216
Choco Departamento del Chocó24.454,030Quibdo Quibdó75,104
La Guajira Departamento de La Guajira25.681,575Riohacha Ríohacha92,431
Archipielago de San Andres, Providencia y Santa Catalina Providencia y Santa Catalina, Departamento de Archipiélago de San Andrés26.70,554San Andres San Andrés58,257
Guaviare Departamento del Guaviare27.95,551San Jose del Guaviare San José del Guaviare22,136
Magdalena Departamento del Magdalena28.1,149,917Santa Marta Santa Marta431,781
Sucre Departamento de Sucre29.772,010Sincelejo Sincelejo261,187
Boyaca Departamento de Boyacá30.1,255,311Tunja Tunja117,479
Cesar Departamento del Cesar31.903,279Valledupar Valledupar308,237
Meta Departamento del Meta32.783,168Villavicencio Villavicencio321,717
Casanare Departamento de Casanare33.295,353Yopal Yopal61,029