This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Colombia

Colombia is made up of 33 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Colombia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Colombia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Colombia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Colombia

There are 33 regions in Colombia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Colombia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Bogota D.C. Distrito Capital de Bogotá1.6,840,116Bogota Bogotá7,674,366
Antioquia Departamento de Antioquia2.6,299,886Medellin Medellín1,999,979
Valle del Cauca Departamento del Valle del Cauca3.4,161,425Cali Cali2,392,877
Cundinamarca Departamento de Cundinamarca4.2,598,245--
Atlantico Departamento del Atlántico5.2,166,156Barranquilla Barranquilla1,380,425
Bolivar Departamento de Bolívar6.2,049,083Cartagena Cartagena952,024
Santander Departamento de Santander7.1,957,789Bucaramanga Bucaramanga571,820
Narino Departamento de Nariño8.1,541,956Pasto Pasto382,236
Cordoba Departamento de Córdoba9.1,467,929Monteria Montería272,420
Tolima Departamento de Tolima10.1,365,342Ibague Ibagué421,685
Cauca Departamento del Cauca11.1,268,937Popayan Popayán258,653
Boyaca Departamento de Boyacá12.1,255,311Tunja Tunja117,479
Norte de Santander Departamento de Norte de Santander13.1,243,975Cucuta Cúcuta721,398
Magdalena Departamento del Magdalena14.1,149,917Santa Marta Santa Marta431,781
Huila Departamento del Huila15.1,011,418Neiva Neiva352,855
Caldas Departamento de Caldas16.968,740Manizales Manizales357,814
Cesar Departamento del Cesar17.903,279Valledupar Valledupar308,237
Risaralda Departamento de Risaralda18.897,509Pereira Pereira440,118
Meta Departamento del Meta19.783,168Villavicencio Villavicencio321,717
Sucre Departamento de Sucre20.772,010Sincelejo Sincelejo261,187
La Guajira Departamento de La Guajira21.681,575Riohacha Ríohacha92,431
Quindio Quindío Department22.534,552Armenia Armenia315,328
Choco Departamento del Chocó23.454,030Quibdo Quibdó75,104
Caqueta Departamento del Caquetá24.420,337Florencia Florencia130,337
Putumayo Departamento del Putumayo25.310,132Mocoa Mocoa22,035
Casanare Departamento de Casanare26.295,353Yopal Yopal61,029
Arauca Departamento de Arauca27.232,118Arauca Arauca69,264
Guaviare Departamento del Guaviare28.95,551San Jose del Guaviare San José del Guaviare22,136
Archipielago de San Andres, Providencia y Santa Catalina Providencia y Santa Catalina, Departamento de Archipiélago de San Andrés29.70,554San Andres San Andrés58,257
Amazonas Amazonas30.67,726Leticia Leticia29,666
Vichada Departamento del Vichada31.55,872Puerto Carreno Puerto Carreño10,216
Vaupes Departamento del Vaupés32.39,279Mitu Mitú5,917
Guainia Departamento del Guainía33.35,230Inirida Inírida7,298