This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Colombia

Colombia is made up of 33 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Colombia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Colombia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Colombia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Colombia

There are 33 regions in Colombia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Colombia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Bogota D.C. Distrito Capital de Bogotá1.6,840,116Bogota Bogotá7,674,366
Valle del Cauca Departamento del Valle del Cauca2.4,161,425Cali Cali2,392,877
Antioquia Departamento de Antioquia3.6,299,886Medellin Medellín1,999,979
Atlantico Departamento del Atlántico4.2,166,156Barranquilla Barranquilla1,380,425
Bolivar Departamento de Bolívar5.2,049,083Cartagena Cartagena952,024
Norte de Santander Departamento de Norte de Santander6.1,243,975Cucuta Cúcuta721,398
Santander Departamento de Santander7.1,957,789Bucaramanga Bucaramanga571,820
Risaralda Departamento de Risaralda8.897,509Pereira Pereira440,118
Magdalena Departamento del Magdalena9.1,149,917Santa Marta Santa Marta431,781
Tolima Departamento de Tolima10.1,365,342Ibague Ibagué421,685
Narino Departamento de Nariño11.1,541,956Pasto Pasto382,236
Caldas Departamento de Caldas12.968,740Manizales Manizales357,814
Huila Departamento del Huila13.1,011,418Neiva Neiva352,855
Meta Departamento del Meta14.783,168Villavicencio Villavicencio321,717
Quindio Quindío Department15.534,552Armenia Armenia315,328
Cesar Departamento del Cesar16.903,279Valledupar Valledupar308,237
Cordoba Departamento de Córdoba17.1,467,929Monteria Montería272,420
Sucre Departamento de Sucre18.772,010Sincelejo Sincelejo261,187
Cauca Departamento del Cauca19.1,268,937Popayan Popayán258,653
Caqueta Departamento del Caquetá20.420,337Florencia Florencia130,337
Boyaca Departamento de Boyacá21.1,255,311Tunja Tunja117,479
La Guajira Departamento de La Guajira22.681,575Riohacha Ríohacha92,431
Choco Departamento del Chocó23.454,030Quibdo Quibdó75,104
Arauca Departamento de Arauca24.232,118Arauca Arauca69,264
Casanare Departamento de Casanare25.295,353Yopal Yopal61,029
Archipielago de San Andres, Providencia y Santa Catalina Providencia y Santa Catalina, Departamento de Archipiélago de San Andrés26.70,554San Andres San Andrés58,257
Amazonas Amazonas27.67,726Leticia Leticia29,666
Guaviare Departamento del Guaviare28.95,551San Jose del Guaviare San José del Guaviare22,136
Putumayo Departamento del Putumayo29.310,132Mocoa Mocoa22,035
Vichada Departamento del Vichada30.55,872Puerto Carreno Puerto Carreño10,216
Guainia Departamento del Guainía31.35,230Inirida Inírida7,298
Vaupes Departamento del Vaupés32.39,279Mitu Mitú5,917
Cundinamarca Departamento de Cundinamarca33.2,598,245--